Skip to content
← All postsTrade guides9 MIN READ

The Best Time Tracking Apps for HVAC Companies (2026)

Six time tracking apps compared for an HVAC company: Clox, QuickBooks Time, Connecteam, Jibble, Buddy Punch, and Hubstaff. We look at the punch at a customer's address, geofences that block or remind, what reaches QuickBooks, and what 6 users cost as of September 2026.

SEPTEMBER 18, 2026 · BY THE CLOX TEAM

This is an honest comparison of six time tracking apps for an HVAC company: Clox, QuickBooks Time, Connecteam, Jibble, Buddy Punch, and Hubstaff, using each vendor's own pricing page and the date we read it. The method for tracking service calls and installs is in our HVAC time tracking guide; this page compares the apps.

01

How we compared

A service tech starts at the shop for parts and clocks a different customer at each of four or six addresses. An install crew stays at one house for two days, and on Friday the hours go to a bookkeeper in QuickBooks. We scored each app on five things.

  • Location at the punch or GPS during the shift. A tech at a customer's address does not have to be tracked to the next stop.
  • A geofence that blocks, or one that only reminds. The difference decides whether an off-site punch reaches the timesheet.
  • A job on every call, picked at the punch, plus a shop start and a mid-shift switch.
  • Offline punches, weekly overtime, and a kiosk for a crew sharing one device.
  • A payroll file for QuickBooks, the price for 6 users, and the contract term.

Prices are monthly for 6 users. Read dates: September 8, 2026 for Clox, QuickBooks Time, Buddy Punch, and Hubstaff; July 28, 2026 for Connecteam and Jibble.

ToolPrice for 6 users, monthlyGeofencingKioskOfflineJob costingPayroll exportsContract
Clox$47Blocks off-site punches for geofenced workers; location read only at the punchPIN kiosk with optional photoYes, punches queue offlineJob and task on every hourCSV imports for ADP RUN, ADP Workforce Now, Paychex Flex, and Gusto; universal CSV; QuickBooks Desktop IIF; QuickBooks Online CSV plus optional live syncMonth to month
QuickBooks TimePremium $80; Elite $112Elite only; notifies, and the worker can disregard; 100 to 1000 mTime kiosk on PremiumNot stated on the pricing pageProject tracking on EliteQuickBooks Online account requiredNot stated on the pricing page
Connecteam$29 on Operations Basic (first 30 users); free for 10 users or fewerNone on Basic (clock in and out with GPS); up to 10 sites on Advanced ($49); unlimited on Expert ($99)Not stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageUnlimited jobs on Basic; labor cost reporting not statedPayroll integration on Basic; formats not statedYearly rate, 18 percent saving stated
JibbleFree; Premium about $27 (annual)2 geofences free; unlimited on PremiumYes, on the free planNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page
Buddy PunchPro about $61 (annual)GPS on punches on Pro; geofencing on Pro per our /vs page (July 2026)On Pro per our /vs page (July 2026)Not stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pagePayroll add-on $8 per user plus $49 base; formats not statedNo contract stated
HubstaffTeam plus Locations about $80 (annual)Locations add-on from $3.33 per user a monthNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page; 2-seat minimum per our /vs page (July 2026)

02

Clox

Clox reads location only at the moment of the punch, with no live map, no breadcrumbs, and nothing recorded between addresses. A tech clocks in, out, or on break with one tap from the iPhone or Android app, or from a phone browser at app.getclox.com with nothing installed. Punches made with no signal queue and sync later. A tech who starts at the shop for parts taps the project name on the clock screen to switch to the first call, so the parts run and the call are separate entries.

4:06
Clox.
Marcus Bell
Donovan Electric
ON THE CLOCK
6:24:17
Started 9:42 AM · Service Calls
Service Calls
Take break
Clock out
All punches synced
RECENT SHIFTS
Mon, Jun 15
7:01a to 3:32p · Service Calls
8h 31m
Sun, Jun 14
7:00a to 2:00p · Maple Street
7h 00m
The worker's on-shift screen, where a tech taps the project name to switch to the next call without clocking out.

Geofencing is per employee. A geofenced tech outside every assigned worksite at clock-in has the punch blocked; the default radius is 200 meters, and a WiFi check covers mechanical rooms where GPS drifts. You can fence the shop and the two-day installs and leave service techs unfenced. Because the location comes from the tech's phone, a geofence is a deterrent and not proof.

Clox exports a QuickBooks Online CSV with an optional live sync (the Push to QuickBooks connection) and a QuickBooks Desktop IIF; the payroll export docs list the rest. One plan includes everything: $29 a month covers 3 users, then $6 per user, so 6 users is $47, with annual billing about 20 percent off and no contract. The HVAC page shows the service and install setup.

03

QuickBooks Time

QuickBooks Time is Intuit's own time clock, and a QuickBooks Online account is a requirement. Intuit's pricing page, read September 8, 2026, prices Time Premium at $20 a month plus $10 per user and Time Elite at $40 plus $12 per user; 6 users is $80 on Premium and $112 on Elite. A "save 50 percent for 3 months" offer and a 30-day trial are shown. Premium includes a time kiosk; Elite adds project tracking and estimates versus actuals.

Geofencing sits on Elite, and by Intuit's description it reminds rather than blocks. Intuit's help article, read September 8, 2026, says "A team member can choose to clock in and out as normal and disregard the geofence notification." Intuit's GPS FAQ says GPS points are gathered while clocked in and not on breaks. Ask what the price is after 3 months. Our QuickBooks Time comparison and QuickBooks integration post go deeper.

04

Connecteam

Connecteam's time clock is part of its Operations hub; Communications and HR are separate hubs. Its pricing page, verified July 28, 2026, lists a Small Business plan free for a team of 10 users or fewer and Operations Basic at $29 a month for the first 30 users. Basic's list is real-time clock in and out with GPS, unlimited jobs, payroll integration, and basic scheduling; it has one time clock and no geofence sites. Advanced is $49 with up to 10 geofence sites and auto clock out; Expert is $99 with unlimited sites, GPS breadcrumbs, and an API, at yearly rates.

Ten sites on Advanced covers a shop and a few long installs, not a service territory; unlimited sites means Expert. Basic's payroll integration is listed without formats, so ask what reaches QuickBooks. Our Connecteam comparison has the notes.

05

Jibble

Jibble's free plan has no user limit and includes a kiosk, facial recognition, basic GPS, and 2 geofences. Its pricing page, verified July 28, 2026, puts Premium at $4.49 per user per month billed annually ($5.99 monthly) with unlimited geofences, schedules, and PTO accruals, and Ultimate at $7.99 ($9.99) with live location tracking. Six users is free, or about $27 on Premium.

Two geofences is the shop plus one more, so a fence per install means Premium. The pricing page does not state whether a punch outside a fence is blocked, or which payroll file you get.

06

Buddy Punch

Every Buddy Punch tier carries a $19 a month base fee. Its pricing page, read September 8, 2026, prices Starter at $4.99 per user per month billed annually ($5.99 monthly), Pro at $6.99 ($7.99), and Advanced at $12.99 ($13.99). Scheduling and GPS on punches are on Pro; real-time GPS is on Advanced or a $2 per user add-on. No contract is stated, and 6 users on Pro is about $61 a month at the annual rate.

The page labels the Pro feature "GPS on punches" and the Advanced one "real-time GPS" without defining either, so ask whether Pro records anything between punches. Our Buddy Punch comparison, verified July 2026, recorded geofencing and the kiosk on Pro; confirm the tier on the vendor page.

07

Hubstaff

Hubstaff's pricing guide, read September 8, 2026, has no free plan on it, only a 14-day trial. Starter is $4.99 per user per month billed annually ($7 monthly), Grow is $7.50 ($9), and Team is $10 ($12). GPS tracking, job sites, and geofencing come through the Locations add-on from $3.33 per user per month; scheduling and time off are in Team. Our Hubstaff comparison, verified July 2026, recorded a 2-seat minimum and screenshots and activity monitoring as core features from Starter up.

Six users on Team with Locations is about $80 a month at annual rates. GPS, job sites, and geofencing are all in the add-on, so ask which plans it attaches to, what Locations records between punches, and whether activity monitoring covers techs.

08

How to choose for an HVAC company

  • Decide the location model first. Location at the punch (Clox; Buddy Punch's Pro label is "GPS on punches") or GPS while clocked in (QuickBooks Time, Hubstaff Locations, Jibble Ultimate, Connecteam Expert). Tell your techs which you picked.
  • Count the fences you need. The shop plus every install running this week: Jibble's free plan stops at 2, Connecteam Advanced at 10, and Clox has unlimited worksites with the fence set per tech.
  • Pay the drive time. Travel between job sites during the workday is hours worked under DOL Fact Sheet 22; we cover it in drive time between job sites. The app needs a Drive job the tech can switch to.
  • Match the payroll file to the bookkeeper. QuickBooks Time runs inside QuickBooks Online; Clox exports a QuickBooks Online CSV and a Desktop IIF.

09

FAQ

Does a time tracking app follow my HVAC techs between service calls?

Not all of them. Clox reads location only at the punch. Intuit's GPS FAQ says QuickBooks Time gathers GPS points while clocked in and not on breaks, and Hubstaff Locations, Jibble Ultimate, and Connecteam Expert list live location or breadcrumbs.

Which HVAC time tracking app works with QuickBooks Online?

QuickBooks Time requires a QuickBooks Online account. Clox exports a QuickBooks Online CSV with an optional live sync, plus an IIF for QuickBooks Desktop. The other four do not name formats on their pricing pages.

What does a time tracking app cost for 6 HVAC techs?

As of September 8, 2026: Clox $47 a month, QuickBooks Time $80 or $112 with geofencing, Connecteam $29, Jibble free or about $27, Buddy Punch about $61, and Hubstaff about $80, the last four at annual rates.

This is general information, not legal advice.

Clox gives you 14 days free with no card and a 30-day money-back guarantee on the first paid subscription. Start a free trial, add the shop and this week's installs as worksites, and run one real week of calls.

Keep reading

Trade guidesTime Tracking for the Trades: Pick the Right Setup for Your CrewTrade guidesTime Tracking for Electricians: Journeymen, Apprentices, and Prevailing-Wage JobsTrade guidesHow Plumbers Track Hours per Job (Service Calls, Rebuilds, and 2 a.m. Emergencies)

Friday becomes a review, not a reconstruction.

14 days free, no credit card30-day money-back guarantee$29/month includes your first 3 usersEvery feature on the one plan

Managers run Clox on the web. Crews clock in from their phones.