Skip to content
← All postsTrade guides9 MIN READ

The Best GPS Time Clock Apps for Field Service Companies (2026)

Six GPS time clock apps compared for HVAC, plumbing, electrical service, pest control, and pool routes. The three ways these apps use location, what each vendor's own page says about geofences and payroll files, and the price for 6 users on each, read in September 2026.

SEPTEMBER 12, 2026 · BY THE CLOX TEAM

This page is an honest comparison of six GPS time clock apps for field service companies: Clox, Connecteam, Hubstaff, Jibble, QuickBooks Time, and Buddy Punch. Every fact comes from the vendor's own pricing page or documentation, with the date we read it. We make Clox, and it gets no special treatment here.

01

How we compared

HVAC, plumbing, electrical service, pest control, and pool routes share one problem. A tech punches at many addresses a day, the owner wants proof the tech was there, and the tech doesn't want to be followed between stops. We checked the usual things (an offline punch, geofences that block an off-site punch, a kiosk, payroll exports, the price for 6 users, and the contract term) and one more: what the app does with location. Read dates: September 8, 2026 for Clox, Hubstaff, QuickBooks Time, and Buddy Punch; July 28, 2026 for Connecteam and Jibble.

02

The three ways these apps use location

Location read only at the punch. The app records where the phone was at clock-in and clock-out. Clox works this way: no tracking between punches, no live map, no breadcrumbs, no background tracking. Buddy Punch's Pro tier lists "GPS on punches" and its Advanced tier lists "real-time GPS"; the page doesn't define either, so ask whether Pro records anything between punches.

Live location or breadcrumbs while clocked in. The app gathers GPS points while the tech is on the clock. Hubstaff's GPS tracking, job sites, and geofencing come through its Locations add-on. Jibble Ultimate adds live location tracking, and Connecteam Operations Expert adds GPS breadcrumbs. QuickBooks Time gathers GPS points while clocked in and not on a break, per Intuit's GPS FAQ.

Reminder-style geofences. The fence notifies the worker on entering or leaving, and the worker can clock in and out as normal regardless. QuickBooks Time describes its geofencing this way, quoted below.

The model changes what your techs agree to at install and what you can show a customer who disputes a visit; the legal side is in Is GPS Tracking of Employees Legal?.

03

Price and features for 6 users

Monthly prices for 6 users, at annual rates where both are published.

ToolPrice for 6 users, monthlyLocation modelGeofencingKioskOffline punchesPayroll exportsContract
Clox$47Read only at the punchBlocks off-site punches for geofenced workers; WiFi checkPIN kiosk with optional photoYesQuickBooks Online and Desktop, ADP RUN, ADP Workforce Now, Paychex Flex, Gusto, universal CSVMonth to month
Connecteam$0 for 10 users or fewer; $29 on Operations BasicClock in and out with GPS on Basic; breadcrumbs on Expert ($99)None on Basic; up to 10 sites on Advanced ($49); unlimited on ExpertNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pagePayroll integration on Basic; formats not statedYearly rate shown, 18 percent saving stated
HubstaffAbout $80 on Team plus LocationsGPS tracking through the Locations add-onLocations add-on, from $3.33 per userNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page
JibbleAbout $27 on Premium; $0 on the free planBasic GPS on free; live location on Ultimate2 geofences free; unlimited on PremiumYes, on the free planNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page
QuickBooks Time$80 on Premium; $112 on EliteGPS points gathered while clocked in, not on breaksElite; notifications the worker can disregardTime kiosk on PremiumNot stated on the pricing pagePayroll and invoicing on Premium; QuickBooks Online requiredNot stated on the pricing page
Buddy PunchAbout $61 on ProGPS on punches on Pro; real-time GPS on AdvancedPro, per our /vs page (July 2026); confirmPro, per our /vs page; confirmNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNo contract stated

04

Clox

Clox reads location at the moment of the punch and at no other time. A tech clocks in at the customer's driveway with one tap from the iPhone or Android app, or from a phone browser with nothing installed, and the punch carries that location. With no signal the punch queues and syncs later, and a tech switches jobs mid-shift without clocking out.

Geofencing is turned on per employee. A geofenced tech outside every assigned worksite at clock-in has the punch blocked, so you can fence regular commercial accounts and leave route techs unfenced. Location comes from the phone, so a geofence is a deterrent, not proof; see Can Employees Fake Their GPS Location?. What Clox adds is record integrity: every punch is signed and hash-chained, anyone can verify a record at getclox.com/verify, and a Proof of Presence PDF exports from Reports. The record is tamper-evident, which proves it hasn't changed since capture and doesn't prove the GPS reading was true.

9:42
Clox.
Marcus Bell
Donovan Electric
NOT CLOCKED IN
9:42 AM
Tue, Jun 16
Project
Service Calls
Add a note (optional)
Clock in
All punches synced
RECENT SHIFTS
Mon, Jun 15
7:01a to 3:32p · Service Calls
8h 31m
Sun, Jun 14
7:00a to 2:00p · Maple Street
7h 00m
The worker's clock-in screen in Clox: one tap, and location is read at that moment only.

Six users is $47 a month ($29 covers the first 3 users, then $6 each), annual billing is about 20 percent off, and there is no contract. Setups for HVAC, plumbers, and pest control have their own pages.

05

Connecteam

Connecteam's pricing, verified July 28, 2026, has a Small Business plan that's free for 10 users or fewer. Operations Basic is $29 a month for the first 30 users and includes real-time clock in and out with GPS, unlimited jobs, payroll integration, and basic scheduling, with one time clock and no geofence sites. Advanced is $49 for 30 users and adds up to 10 geofence sites and auto clock out. Expert is $99 and adds unlimited geofence sites, GPS breadcrumbs, and API access. Those are yearly rates, and Communications and HR are separate hubs.

For 6 techs, Basic is $29 (the price covers a 30-user block), fenced sites start at $49, and breadcrumbs at $99. The page doesn't state what a geofence does at the punch or which payroll formats Basic covers; our Connecteam comparison has more.

06

Hubstaff

Hubstaff's pricing guide, read September 8, 2026, lists Starter at $4.99 per user per month annually ($7 monthly), Team at $10 ($12), and a custom Enterprise tier, and it lists no free plan, only a 14-day trial. GPS tracking, job sites, and geofencing come through the Locations add-on, from $3.33 per user per month; scheduling and time off are on Team. Our Hubstaff comparison (July 2026) recorded a 2-seat minimum and screenshots and activity monitoring as core features from Starter up.

For 6 users on Team plus Locations that's about $80 a month at annual rates. Ask which plans Locations attaches to and whether screenshots can be turned off for field techs.

07

Jibble

Jibble's free plan, verified July 28, 2026, covers unlimited users and includes a kiosk, facial recognition, basic GPS, and 2 geofences. Premium is $4.49 per user per month annually ($5.99 monthly) and adds unlimited geofences, schedules, and PTO accruals. Ultimate is $7.99 ($9.99) and adds live location tracking.

For 6 users, Premium is about $27 a month at the annual rate. Two free geofences cover a shop and one account; more means Premium. The page doesn't state what a geofence does at the punch. Before turning on the free plan's facial recognition, ask Jibble what it stores. Under the Illinois BIPA summary (read September 8, 2026) a scan of face geometry is a biometric identifier, and Texas and Washington have their own consent statutes, so get written consent first.

08

QuickBooks Time

On QuickBooks Time's pricing page, read September 8, 2026, Time Premium is a $20 a month base plus $10 per user and Time Elite is $40 plus $12 per user. Six users comes to $80 or $112, and you need a QuickBooks Online account as well. Geofencing needs Elite. Per Intuit's help article Use geofencing in QuickBooks Time, read September 8, 2026, "A team member can choose to clock in and out as normal and disregard the geofence notification."

Per Intuit's GPS tracking FAQ, GPS points are gathered while clocked in and not on breaks. For a company inside QuickBooks Online payroll it's the native path; see our QuickBooks Time comparison.

09

Buddy Punch

Buddy Punch's pricing page, read September 8, 2026, lists Starter at $4.99 per user per month annually ($5.99 monthly), Pro at $6.99 ($7.99), and Advanced at $12.99 ($13.99), each plus a $19 a month base fee. Pro includes scheduling and GPS on punches. Advanced includes real-time GPS, also sold as a $2 per user add-on. No contract is stated.

For 6 users, Pro is about $61 a month at the annual rate. Our Buddy Punch comparison, verified July 2026, put geofencing and the kiosk on Pro; check the tier on the vendor page before you buy.

10

How to choose for a field service company

  • Many addresses a day. Decide whether you fence regular accounts or tag each call as a job; Clox does either, with the geofence per employee, and Jibble's free plan stops at 2 fences.
  • The tech's phone. Pick the location model on purpose and tell the crew before install; the Clox GPS notice is at /gps-consent.
  • The disputed visit. A signed record with a clock-in location is what you show a customer; see our field crew software guide.
  • The Friday file. Clox and QuickBooks Time state their payroll paths, Connecteam lists an integration without formats, and the other pages don't say.

11

FAQ

Does a GPS time clock app track my techs all day?

Not Clox, which reads location only at the punch. Hubstaff's Locations add-on lists GPS tracking, and Jibble Ultimate, Connecteam Expert, and QuickBooks Time list live location, breadcrumbs, or GPS points while clocked in.

Can a tech fake a GPS clock-in?

Location comes from the phone, so no app can promise it can't be faked; a geofence is a deterrent. Clox signs and hash-chains each punch so any change to the record after capture is detectable, which is a separate guarantee.

What does a GPS time clock cost for 6 technicians?

Clox $47, Connecteam $29 on Basic or $49 with fenced sites, Hubstaff about $80 with Locations, Jibble about $27 on Premium, QuickBooks Time $112 on Elite, and Buddy Punch about $61 on Pro.

You can run Clox free for 14 days without a card, and the first paid subscription is covered by a 30-day money-back guarantee. Start a free trial, add your regular accounts as worksites, and put a week of service calls through it.

Keep reading

Trade guidesTime Tracking for the Trades: Pick the Right Setup for Your CrewTrade guidesTime Tracking for Electricians: Journeymen, Apprentices, and Prevailing-Wage JobsTrade guidesHow Plumbers Track Hours per Job (Service Calls, Rebuilds, and 2 a.m. Emergencies)

Friday becomes a review, not a reconstruction.

14 days free, no credit card30-day money-back guarantee$29/month includes your first 3 usersEvery feature on the one plan

Managers run Clox on the web. Crews clock in from their phones.