Skip to content
← All postsTrade guides9 MIN READ

The Best Time Tracking Apps for Electricians and Electrical Contractors (2026)

Six time tracking apps compared for an electrical contractor: Clox, ClockShark, Workyard, busybusy, QuickBooks Time, and Connecteam. We look at journeyman and apprentice rates on one job, records for prevailing-wage work, phases as tasks, kiosks for phone-restricted sites, and the price for 6 users.

SEPTEMBER 21, 2026 · BY THE CLOX TEAM

This is an honest comparison of six time tracking apps for an electrical contractor: Clox, ClockShark, Workyard, busybusy, QuickBooks Time, and Connecteam, using each vendor's own pricing page and the date we read it. The method for journeymen, apprentices, and prevailing-wage jobs is in our electricians guide; this page compares the apps.

01

How we compared

An electrical crew has a journeyman and an apprentice at different rates on the same panel, rough-in and trim on one address, a prevailing-wage job that needs clean records, and a commercial site where the GC bans phones. We scored each app on:

  • Rates per person per job, because the same worker is often paid a different rate on a prevailing-wage job.
  • Phases as tasks, so rough-in and trim are separate numbers on one job.
  • Records you can pull for an audit: exact minutes, the job, and a log of every edit.
  • A kiosk for phone-restricted sites, plus offline punches for switchgear rooms.
  • A geofence that blocks off-site punches, overtime, payroll exports, the price for 6 users, and the contract term.

Prices are monthly for 6 users. Clox, Workyard, and QuickBooks Time were read on September 8, 2026; ClockShark and busybusy on August 9, 2026; Connecteam on July 28, 2026.

ToolPrice for 6 users, monthlyGeofencingKioskOfflineJob costingPayroll exportsContract
Clox$47Blocks off-site punches for geofenced workers; location read only at the punchPIN kiosk with optional photoYes, punches queue offlineJob and task on every hour; multi-rate payCSV imports for ADP RUN, ADP Workforce Now, Paychex Flex, and Gusto; universal CSV; QuickBooks Desktop IIF; QuickBooks Online CSV plus optional live syncMonth to month
ClockSharkStandard $94; Pro $126GPS on Standard; whether it blocks a punch is not statedNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageJobs and tasks on Standard; advanced job costing on ProIntegrations on Standard; formats not statedThree-year term on all plans
WorkyardFrom $36 (6 × $6, annual); per-tier prices not publishedOn Pro; Pro price not publishedNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageProject tracking and labor cost reporting on ProPayroll integrations on Starter; formats not statedAnnual for the $6 rate; monthly available
busybusyFree; Pro $99.94 (annual)GPS time tracking on Free; geofenced clock-in on Pro per our /vs pageOn ProFree plan includes offline modeFree plan includes job costingNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page
QuickBooks TimePremium $80; Elite $112Elite only; notifies, and the worker can disregard; 100 to 1000 mTime kiosk on PremiumNot stated on the pricing pageProject tracking on EliteQuickBooks Online account requiredNot stated on the pricing page
Connecteam$29 on Operations Basic (first 30 users); free for 10 users or fewerNone on Basic (clock in and out with GPS); up to 10 sites on Advanced ($49); unlimited on Expert ($99)Not stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageUnlimited jobs on Basic; labor cost reporting not statedPayroll integration on Basic; formats not statedYearly rate, 18 percent saving stated

02

Clox

Clox tags every hour to a job and a task, so rough-in and trim on one address are two lines in Reports and labor cost per job is a number. Pay is multi-rate per job, so a journeyman's prevailing-wage hours and service-call hours carry different rates in the same week. Clox carries the hours and rates by job into the export, and your payroll system computes the weighted-average premium from them.

For a site that bans phones, PIN kiosk mode runs on a shared tablet with an optional clock-in photo; each worker has a 4 to 8 digit PIN and no app on a personal phone. Everyone else clocks in, out, or on break with one tap on the iPhone or Android app or a phone browser, and punches with no signal queue and sync later. Geofencing is per employee: a geofenced worker outside every assigned worksite at clock-in has the punch blocked, and a WiFi check covers multi-floor buildings where GPS drifts.

kiosk · Donovan Electric
CLOX KIOSK
Tap your name to clock in
Donovan Electric · Tuesday, June 16 · 7:14 AM
CN
Cody Nguyen
On the clock
DR
Diego Ramirez
On the clock
FD
Frank Donovan
Clocked out
JA
Jordan Avery
Clocked out
MB
Marcus Bell
Clocked out
PP
Priya Patel
Clocked out
RO
Renee Okafor
Clocked out
TC
Tasha Coleman
On the clock
The PIN kiosk on a shared tablet, for a site where phones stay in the truck.

Reports export CSV, Excel, and PDF with Start, End, Breaks, Regular, Overtime, Double-time, and pay columns: export records you can pull for an audit. Every manager edit goes to an audit log. Each punch is signed and hash-chained with a public verifier at getclox.com/verify, which proves the record has not changed since capture, not that the GPS reading was true. One plan: $29 a month covers 3 users, then $6 per user, so 6 users is $47, with no contract. The electricians page shows the setup.

03

ClockShark

Per its pricing page, verified August 9, 2026, Standard is $40 a month plus $9 per user per month and Pro is $60 plus $11 per user, so 6 users is $94 on Standard and $126 on Pro. On Standard the page lists time and attendance, GPS, jobs and tasks, drag and drop scheduling, manager roles and approvals, and integrations. On Pro it adds paid time off, multi-department and multi-office controls, advanced job costing, and shift wrap-up and compliance forms. The page also states "Contract term of three (3) years applies to all pricing plans."

The term is the first thing to weigh: a crew whose headcount rises and falls with the job signs for three years of seats. Jobs and tasks on Standard cover rough-in and trim as phases. Ask whether the GPS includes a geofence that blocks a punch, whether there is a kiosk, and how rates per worker per job are handled. Our ClockShark comparison has the notes.

04

Workyard

Workyard publishes one price. Its pricing page, read September 8, 2026, says "Plans start at $6 per user / month, billed annually", with monthly billing available, across four tiers. Starter carries GPS tracking, a time clock, break and overtime compliance, and payroll integrations. Pro adds scheduling, task management, geofencing, project tracking, and labor cost reporting, and Autopilot adds time card sign-offs and an API. Per-tier prices and any base fee are not published.

Task management and project tracking on Pro fit rough-in and trim, and Autopilot lists time card sign-offs, so ask what a sign-off records. Six users at the floor rate is $36 a month, but geofencing and tasks are on Pro, so get the Pro price for your seats in writing. Our Workyard comparison has the notes.

05

busybusy

busybusy has a free plan for unlimited users; its pricing page, verified August 9, 2026, lists GPS time tracking, job costing, equipment tracking, overtime, and offline mode on it. Pro is $9.99 per user per month billed annually plus a $40 admin license, adding GPS breadcrumbing, supervisor tools, scheduling, a kiosk, and time off. Six users cost nothing on the free plan, or $99.94 a month on Pro.

Job costing on the free plan is the reason to look at it. The kiosk is on Pro, the same tier that lists GPS breadcrumbing, so ask whether breadcrumbing can be turned off per worker; rates per worker per job are not stated. Our busybusy comparison has the notes.

06

QuickBooks Time

QuickBooks Time is the time clock Intuit sells alongside QuickBooks Online, which it requires. Intuit's pricing page, read September 8, 2026, shows Time Premium at $20 a month plus $10 per user and Time Elite at $40 plus $12 per user, which makes 6 users $80 on Premium and $112 on Elite. Premium includes a time kiosk; Elite adds project tracking and timesheet signatures.

Geofencing needs Elite, and Intuit describes it as a reminder rather than a block. Per Intuit's help article, read September 8, 2026, "A team member can choose to clock in and out as normal and disregard the geofence notification." Our QuickBooks Time comparison goes deeper.

07

Connecteam

Connecteam's time clock is part of its Operations hub. Its pricing page, verified July 28, 2026, shows the Small Business plan free for a team of 10 users or fewer and Operations Basic at $29 a month for the first 30 users. On Basic you get real-time clock in and out with GPS, unlimited jobs, payroll integration, and basic scheduling, with one time clock and no geofence sites. Advanced ($49) adds up to 10 geofence sites, and Expert ($99) adds unlimited sites, GPS breadcrumbs, and an API, at yearly rates.

Unlimited jobs on Basic covers a job per address, and ten geofence sites on Advanced covers a handful of active jobs. A kiosk, offline punches, tasks under jobs, rates per worker, and payroll formats are not stated. Our Connecteam comparison has the notes.

08

How to choose for an electrical contractor

  • Start with rates. If a journeyman earns two rates in one week, the app needs a rate per person per job, and payroll needs the weighted-average regular rate under 29 CFR 778.115. We walk through that math in calculating overtime on prevailing-wage jobs.
  • Make phases tasks. Rough-in and trim as tasks on one job lets you compare labor hours with the bid; Clox and ClockShark Standard list tasks.
  • Decide how the gate works. If the GC bans phones, you need a kiosk: Clox includes one, busybusy's is on Pro, and QuickBooks Time's is on Premium; our tablet kiosk post covers the setup.
  • Read the contract term. Month to month (Clox), annual for the quoted rate (Workyard, busybusy, Connecteam), or three years (ClockShark).

09

FAQ

Which time tracking app handles different pay rates for journeymen and apprentices?

Clox states multi-rate pay per job on its one plan. The other five pricing pages do not say how rates per worker per job are handled.

What records do I need from a time tracking app for a prevailing-wage job?

Exact start and end times each day, the job and task, regular and overtime hours, and a log of every edit. Clox exports the time and hours columns and keeps an audit log of edits; no app replaces the forms your agency requires.

What does a time tracking app cost for 6 electricians?

Clox $47 a month, ClockShark $94 on Standard with a three-year term, Workyard from $36 with tier prices unpublished, busybusy free or $99.94 on Pro, QuickBooks Time $80 or $112 with geofencing, and Connecteam $29.

This is general information, not legal advice.

The trial is 14 days, no card, and the first paid subscription carries a 30-day money-back guarantee. Start a free trial, set up one job with rough-in and trim as tasks and two pay rates, and run a real week.

Keep reading

Trade guidesTime Tracking for the Trades: Pick the Right Setup for Your CrewTrade guidesTime Tracking for Electricians: Journeymen, Apprentices, and Prevailing-Wage JobsTrade guidesHow Plumbers Track Hours per Job (Service Calls, Rebuilds, and 2 a.m. Emergencies)

Friday becomes a review, not a reconstruction.

14 days free, no credit card30-day money-back guarantee$29/month includes your first 3 usersEvery feature on the one plan

Managers run Clox on the web. Crews clock in from their phones.