Skip to content
← All postsTrade guides9 MIN READ

The Best GPS Time Tracking Apps for Landscaping Crews (2026)

Six GPS time tracking apps compared for a landscaping crew: Clox, Jibble, Connecteam, busybusy, Buddy Punch, and Homebase. We look at a crew sharing one device, how many properties each app can fence, whether GPS means a punch or a live map, and the price for 6 users.

SEPTEMBER 24, 2026 · BY THE CLOX TEAM

This is an honest comparison of six GPS time tracking apps for a landscaping company: Clox, Jibble, Connecteam, busybusy, Buddy Punch, and Homebase, using each vendor's own pricing page with the date we read it. The method for a multi-property route is in our landscapers guide; this page compares the apps.

01

How we compared

A maintenance crew rides one truck to 8 to 15 properties a day. One foreman carries the company phone; the rest do not. The roster grows in April and shrinks in November, and every contract needs labor per property. We scored each app on:

  • A punch model for a crew that shares one device: a kiosk on a tablet in the truck, or a phone for everyone.
  • How many properties you can fence. A fence per property adds up on a route.
  • What GPS tracking means: a location on the punch, or a live map of the truck during the shift.
  • A job per property, so a maintenance contract has a labor number, plus a Drive job between stops.
  • Offline punches, overtime, payroll exports, the price for 6 users, and the contract term.

Prices are monthly for 6 users. Read dates: September 8, 2026 for Clox, Buddy Punch, and Homebase; August 9, 2026 for busybusy; July 28, 2026 for Jibble and Connecteam.

ToolPrice for 6 users, monthlyGeofencingKioskOfflineJob costingPayroll exportsContract
Clox$47Blocks off-site punches for geofenced workers; unlimited worksites; location read only at the punchPIN kiosk with optional photoYes, punches queue offlineJob and task on every hourCSV imports for ADP RUN, ADP Workforce Now, Paychex Flex, and Gusto; universal CSV; QuickBooks Desktop IIF; QuickBooks Online CSV plus optional live syncMonth to month
JibbleFree; Premium about $27 (annual)2 geofences free; unlimited on PremiumYes, on the free planNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page
Connecteam$29 on Operations Basic (first 30 users); free for 10 users or fewerNone on Basic (clock in and out with GPS); up to 10 sites on Advanced ($49); unlimited on Expert ($99)Not stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageUnlimited jobs on Basic; labor cost reporting not statedPayroll integration on Basic; formats not statedYearly rate, 18 percent saving stated
busybusyFree; Pro $99.94 (annual)GPS time tracking on Free; geofenced clock-in on Pro per our /vs pageOn ProFree plan includes offline modeFree plan includes job costingNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page
Buddy PunchPro about $61 (annual)GPS on punches on Pro; geofencing on Pro per our /vs page (July 2026)On Pro per our /vs page (July 2026)Not stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pagePayroll add-on $8 per user plus $49 base; formats not statedNo contract stated
HomebasePer location: Basic free (10 employees or fewer); Essentials $30; Plus $70Plus and above per our /vs page (July 2026); confirm on the vendor pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pagePayroll add-on $39 plus $6 per employee paid; formats not statedMonthly or annual rates

02

Clox

Clox has two punch paths on one plan. A worker with a phone clocks in, out, or on break with one tap on the iPhone or Android app or a phone browser. A crew that shares one device uses PIN kiosk mode on a tablet: the kiosk screen lists the team by name, each person enters a 4 to 8 digit PIN, and the foreman keeps the phone. Punches with no signal queue and sync later, and a worker switches projects mid-shift without clocking out, which puts a Drive job between two properties.

kiosk · Donovan Electric
CLOX KIOSK
Tap your name to clock in
Donovan Electric · Tuesday, June 16 · 7:14 AM
CN
Cody Nguyen
On the clock
DR
Diego Ramirez
On the clock
FD
Frank Donovan
Clocked out
JA
Jordan Avery
Clocked out
MB
Marcus Bell
Clocked out
PP
Priya Patel
Clocked out
RO
Renee Okafor
Clocked out
TC
Tasha Coleman
On the clock
PIN kiosk mode on a shared tablet in the truck.

GPS in Clox means a location read at the punch and nothing between punches: no live map, no breadcrumbs. Worksites are unlimited (200 meters is the default radius) and geofencing is per employee, so you can fence the yard and the install jobs, or every property you serve. A geofenced worker outside every assigned worksite at clock-in has the punch blocked; a geofence is a deterrent, not proof, since the location comes from the phone. Each property is a job, and labor per contract is a number in Reports.

Pricing is one plan: $29 a month covers 3 users, then $6 per user, so 6 users is $47 and a 12-user summer roster is $83, month to month, or about 20 percent off annually. Exports cover ADP RUN, ADP Workforce Now, Paychex Flex, Gusto, and QuickBooks Desktop, plus a QuickBooks Online CSV with an optional live sync. The landscapers page shows the route setup.

03

Jibble

Jibble's free plan covers unlimited users and includes a kiosk, facial recognition, basic GPS, and 2 geofences. Per its pricing page, verified July 28, 2026, Premium costs $4.49 per user per month billed annually ($5.99 monthly) and adds unlimited geofences, schedules, and PTO accruals, while Ultimate costs $7.99 ($9.99) and adds live location tracking. A 6-person crew is free, or about $27 a month on Premium.

A free kiosk for a crew that shares one device is the main reason to look at it, and unlimited free users means a seasonal roster costs nothing to grow. Two geofences is the yard plus one, so fencing properties means Premium. The page does not state whether a punch outside a fence is blocked.

04

Connecteam

Connecteam packages its time clock in an Operations hub, with Communications and HR sold as separate hubs. Per its pricing page, verified July 28, 2026, a Small Business plan is free for a team of 10 users or fewer, and Operations Basic costs $29 a month for the first 30 users. Basic covers real-time clock in and out with GPS, unlimited jobs, payroll integration, and basic scheduling, with one time clock and no geofence sites. Advanced, at $49, adds up to 10 geofence sites; Expert, at $99, adds unlimited sites, GPS breadcrumbs, and an API, at yearly rates.

Basic's first 30 users at one price suits a summer roster, and unlimited jobs covers a job per property. Ten sites on Advanced covers the yard and a few contracts, so fencing every property on a route means Expert. Our Connecteam comparison has the notes.

05

busybusy

busybusy's free plan, per its pricing page verified August 9, 2026, takes unlimited users and lists GPS time tracking, job costing, equipment tracking, overtime, and offline mode. Pro runs $9.99 per user per month billed annually plus a $40 admin license, and adds GPS breadcrumbing, supervisor tools, scheduling, a kiosk, and time off. For 6 users that's free, or $99.94 a month on Pro.

Free job costing fits a company that bills per property, and equipment tracking covers the mowers. The kiosk is on Pro, the same tier that lists GPS breadcrumbing, so ask whether breadcrumbing can be turned off per worker. Our busybusy comparison recorded geofenced on-site clock-in on Pro and up.

06

Buddy Punch

Buddy Punch adds a $19 a month base to every tier. Its pricing page, read September 8, 2026, has Starter at $4.99 per user per month billed annually ($5.99 monthly), Pro at $6.99 ($7.99), and Advanced at $12.99 ($13.99). Pro lists scheduling and GPS on punches, and Advanced lists real-time GPS, also available as a $2 per user add-on. The page states no contract, and 6 users on Pro comes to about $61 a month at the annual rate.

Pro's label is "GPS on punches" and Advanced's is "real-time GPS"; the page doesn't define either, so ask whether Pro records a location at the punch only. Our Buddy Punch comparison, verified July 2026, recorded geofencing and the kiosk on Pro; confirm with the vendor.

07

Homebase

Homebase prices per location, not per user. Its pricing page, read September 8, 2026, lists Basic at $0 for 1 location and 10 employees or fewer with basic scheduling and time tracking. Essentials is $30 per location per month ($24 annual), Plus is $70 ($56), and All-in-One is $120 ($96).

Our Homebase comparison, verified July 2026, put job-site geofencing on Plus and above, so confirm that on the vendor page. Per that page Homebase is built around a store or restaurant shift, and "location" means the shop, not a property. A company with one yard pays one location's price on a paid tier; ask whether an employee cap applies above Basic.

08

How to choose for a landscaping crew

  • Pick the punch model first. A phone for everyone, or a foreman phone plus a shared tablet. Clox includes the kiosk on its one plan and Jibble on its free plan; busybusy and Buddy Punch put it on Pro.
  • Count the properties you would fence. Two on Jibble's free plan, ten on Connecteam Advanced, unlimited on Jibble Premium, Connecteam Expert, and Clox.
  • Pay the drive between properties. Travel between job sites during the workday is hours worked under DOL Fact Sheet 22; see drive time between job sites and tracking hours across multiple job sites.
  • Price the summer roster. Per user (Clox, Buddy Punch), per location (Homebase), or free for unlimited users (Jibble, busybusy); at 12 users Clox is $83 and Connecteam Basic is still $29.

09

FAQ

Do I need a geofence for every property my landscaping crew visits?

No. Geofencing in Clox is per employee and worksites are unlimited, so you can fence the yard only; a shift with a clock-in location still shows a Map link and a distance readout at approval.

Can a landscaping crew share one device to clock in?

Yes. Clox runs a PIN kiosk on a shared tablet on its one plan, and Jibble's free plan includes a kiosk. busybusy's kiosk is on Pro, and Buddy Punch's was recorded on Pro by our /vs page.

Does GPS time tracking follow the crew between properties?

In Clox, no: location is read only at the punch. busybusy Pro lists GPS breadcrumbing, Connecteam Expert lists breadcrumbs, and Jibble Ultimate lists live location tracking.

This is general information, not legal advice.

Clox is free for 14 days, no card, and the first paid subscription is backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. Start a free trial, put a tablet in the truck, add this week's route as jobs, and run one real week.

Keep reading

Trade guidesTime Tracking for the Trades: Pick the Right Setup for Your CrewTrade guidesTime Tracking for Electricians: Journeymen, Apprentices, and Prevailing-Wage JobsTrade guidesHow Plumbers Track Hours per Job (Service Calls, Rebuilds, and 2 a.m. Emergencies)

Friday becomes a review, not a reconstruction.

14 days free, no credit card30-day money-back guarantee$29/month includes your first 3 usersEvery feature on the one plan

Managers run Clox on the web. Crews clock in from their phones.